James Acheson


Tickets are required for all IU Cinema screenings. You can purchase tickets online and pick them up at the IU Auditorium box office during regular hours or 60 minutes prior to any screening. Learn more about IU Cinema tickets »


Parking is available near the IU Cinema at the Jordan Avenue Garage (the top level is open to all visitors). If you have an IU parking pass, you can park at surface lots near the IU Auditorium during the week after 5 p.m. Parking is free on weekends. Learn more about IU Cinema parking »

JA iconJames Acheson - Costume Designer

icon-jorgensen-lectureJorgensen Guest Filmmaker Series

James Acheson

  1. Thursday, January 17, 2013 3:00 p.m.
Image of filmmaker James Acheson
Lecture title: Dressing Movies and Costuming Superheroes

James Acheson has been designing costumes for Hollywood for over thirty years. His talents have earned him three Academy Awards® for costume design, and have linked him to numerous impressive creative projects. The lecture will focus on designing for Hollywood, his celebrated career, and preparation for his role in the much anticipated summer film, Man of Steel.

Events are sponsored in part by the IU SAGE Fashion Collection and Fashion Design Program in the College of Arts and Sciences. Special thanks to Lindsay Hamman from the Indianapolis Museum of Art.

James Acheson's filmography as Costume Designer includes:
Man of Steel (2013)
The Warrior's Way (2010)
Spider-Man 3 (2007)
Spider-Man 2 (2004)
Daredevil (2003)
Spider-Man (2002)
The Mists of Avalon (2001)
The Little Vampire (2000)
The Metropolitan Opera Presents– Le nozze di Figaro (1998)
The Man in the Iron Mask (1998)
Mr. Toad's Wild Ride (1996)
Restoration (1995) - Academy Award®
Frankenstein (1994)
Little Buddha (1993)
Wuthering Heights (1992)
Le nozze di Figaro (1991)
The Sheltering Sky (1990)
Dangerous Liaisons (1988) - Academy Award®
The Last Emperor (1987) - Academy Award®
Biggles: Adventures in Time (1986)
Highlander (1986)
Brazil (1985)
Water (1985)
Bullshot Crummond (1983)
The Meaning of Life (1983)
Time Bandits (1981)
Doctor Who (1972-1976)
The Prince and the Pauper (1976)